Looking for older computer

Got used crap for sale? Peddle it here.

Post Reply
AlphaDrake
Posts: 1522
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Behind you
Contact:

Looking for older computer

Post by AlphaDrake » Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:55 pm

At SmarchLAN we borrowed a server running OpenBSD to act as the router, and I think it worked pretty awesome (never noticed slow internet, even the guys playing ETQW had the same pings they had at home).

But I gotta give the server back. Anyone have a somewhat older computer I can buy off them to replace it permanently?
Image
User avatar
Latency
Posts: 2167
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by Latency » Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:12 pm

I got a few here from old clients. I can get one up and running in 10 min. Think the best one's a P4 2.2 with 1GB mem ... might be 512 tho. Contact me if u r interested.
Intel Core i7-8700K @ 4.8 Ghz / Asus z370-E / 16GB HyperX / GTX 1080 8GB / 24" Asus PA246Q IPS Panel ProArt LCD 100% sRGB 98% AdobeRGB / Samsung EVO 850 250GB SSD / 8TB WD RED / Corsair GS700 PSU
User avatar
Grapeman
Posts: 2872
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:45 am
Location: In your Mom.
Contact:

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by Grapeman » Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:31 am

YES.............OPENBSD FTW!!! FU LINUX, FU FREEBSD............
Dolphins. The GAY sharks of the sea!!!

DIP ME IN CHOCOLATE and THROW ME TO THE LESBIANS!!!

There is nothin finer then a Dickens Cider
User avatar
Spyhop
Posts: 6162
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: SPAAACCCCE

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by Spyhop » Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:24 am

Like there's a big difference
User avatar
fittysix
Posts: 705
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:33 am
Location: World 1-1

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by fittysix » Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:35 am

FREEBSD FOREVER!!!!!

ipfw pwns ur pf!
 /l、 SpammerAssassin is built on JBASH (Jason Bourne Again Shell)
(゚、 。7
 l、 ~ヽ   
 じしf_, )ノ
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4109
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by zeroumus » Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:25 pm

I am sort of investigating this solution myself. It might be an alternative to the hardware solution i have been trying to temp myself with.

The problem i am having with this is 2 things 1) Not knowing anything "linux/unix,bsd"ish makes the larning curve a little steep. 2) All these software solutions dont give any clue as to how they perform compared to anything. Does your average computer have what it takes to compete with a dedicated hardware solution running custom processors with almost no bus overhead?




edit:

for example, PF sense makes the following warning
In environments requiring more than 3 Gbps or 1 million packets per second of sustained throughput, no router based on commodity hardware offers adequate performance. Such environments need to deploy layer 3 switches (routing done in hardware by the switch) or high end ASIC-based routers. As commodity hardware increases in performance, and general purpose operating systems like FreeBSD improve packet processing capabilities in line with what new hardware capabilities can support, scalability will continue to improve with time.
Core i7 6850K 6 core @ 4.6 Ghz - 32 Gb ram, nvidia 1080ti, Samsung EVO960 1TB SSD, Asus ROG switft monitor 144 Hz, Windows 10, start10
User avatar
fittysix
Posts: 705
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:33 am
Location: World 1-1

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by fittysix » Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:15 pm

zeroumus wrote:All these software solutions dont give any clue as to how they perform compared to anything. Does your average computer have what it takes to compete with a dedicated hardware solution running custom processors with almost no bus overhead?
Well, as for FreeBSD anyways, a P4 3.0 with 2gb of RAM can serve about 1200+ clients with between 1.5-6mbit each

That being said it's hard to say how it does with HIGH bandwidth per client, if you want lots of bandwidth per client I would at least suggest PCI-e network cards, since the physical bus can actually support more than 1 gigabit.
In my experience with it the kernel is more than capable of actually routing the traffic at high speeds however.


edit: btw for anyone running a commodity hardware router, if you want lots of clients, use lots of ram, the routing tables are all kept in ram :P
Last edited by fittysix on Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
 /l、 SpammerAssassin is built on JBASH (Jason Bourne Again Shell)
(゚、 。7
 l、 ~ヽ   
 じしf_, )ノ
User avatar
r337ard
Posts: 2869
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:48 am
Location: Al-Jammaz Telecom
Contact:

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by r337ard » Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:41 pm

We're well outside of the type of scenario described there, we're not looking to switch high bandwidth traffic or route it between networks - we're just looking for a gateway here. We're not going to be pushing those kinds of traffic numbers through the network head for a long long time - so long as all the switches are trunked together and don't rely on our head end router to pass traffic between them we're fine.
A limited supply of surprisingly, as this homeboy is poised for the big time. Sweet and pure like a honey coated nun, SOULS well sure he funky in the 70s.
slayer
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:40 pm
Location: Nearest Water Tower

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by slayer » Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:00 am

There is another option for firewall/router.

A product called untangle. Pretty powerful and fairly simple to use and configure.

http://www.untangle.com/
LiViD
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 12:23 am
Location: Char

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by LiViD » Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:55 pm

Looks like it's a bit of a pig. P4/80GB's/1GB of RAM to start? I'd trade some complexity in setting up a BSD router than use that solution.
Alienware M17xR3 :: i7-2720QM :: 8GB PC3-10600 :: GTX 485M @ 580M :: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Japanese Proverb: Bird never make nest in bare tree.
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4109
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Re: Looking for older computer

Post by zeroumus » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:28 pm

Well, if its simple and it does not jack peopls pings, I got no problem with it being a pig
Core i7 6850K 6 core @ 4.6 Ghz - 32 Gb ram, nvidia 1080ti, Samsung EVO960 1TB SSD, Asus ROG switft monitor 144 Hz, Windows 10, start10
Post Reply