RTS LAN - April 6 - 8 - UPDATED WITH POST GAME INFO - CLOSED

Title says it all ...
User avatar
Ryzzen
Posts: 1013
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:52 pm
Location: E-town

Post by Ryzzen » Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:21 am

I'm still coming to the lan.
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:01 am

ok, mobius made it sound grim, even if I filled the spot, we would have let ya come
SCETR
Posts: 1690
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:10 am
Location: Edmonton

Post by SCETR » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:09 pm

Ok, guys been playin some Supreme Commander lately and after the last patch I seem to get kicked after about an hour and a half. It seems that Supreme Commander will take so much ram that you get kicked after you pass the threshold of 2GB. There is a workaround developed by a player named MadBoris and here is a link to the fix. It is at http://forums.gaspowered.com/viewtopic. ... highlight= . The fix involves two steps.

i) update your boot INI to let windows XP go past the 2 GB threshold
ii) update the supremecommander.exe by changing the header which tells the app to take more than 2GB.

It seems that this will either i) let the game use more system ram than 2 GB if you have it or ii) let the game use more pagefile ram if it is there thus preventing the crash and letting the game continue.

I will patch the game tonight and let you know how it goes.

The only thing to watch out for is to keep your original exe intact. If there is an update then you say no to the update. Then restore to the original exe, get the patch. Then you fix the new patch again.

Anyhow the link explains it all.

See ya,

P.S. Trythis1 just went and bought C&C3, do I need to buy this or is someone bringing a DEMO (hint hint) copy along.
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:31 pm

I GOT A DEMO
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:02 am

you guys going to grind house ( myself included), i assume your still coming at some point friday.


i would suggest ya drop off your pc real quick and then goto the movie
SCETR
Posts: 1690
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:10 am
Location: Edmonton

Post by SCETR » Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:02 am

I thought Grindhouse was on Saturday night, I am planning on coming over on Friday Morning, is that OK?
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:16 am

SCETR wrote:I thought Grindhouse was on Saturday night, I am planning on coming over on Friday Morning, is that OK?
thats ok yup

there will be a small window i need to duck out of the house in the morning or noon, but I am sure we can work around it.


Phone me @
9o7 9o94 if ya show up and nobody answers
SCETR
Posts: 1690
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:10 am
Location: Edmonton

Post by SCETR » Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:37 am

Ok, now an update on Supreme Commander. I finally was able to try out the patch. I did as in the example above patching both boot.ini and the supremecommander.exe. Then I started a squirmish game on an 80K map, the biggest one of all, with 7 AI's and me. Then I just played and kept track of the resource usage. I saved along the way too.

I used to get kicked at about the 1.6 GB threshold after an hour and a half. Last night i played for 4 hours with no problem, I was at the 1.82 GB point when I had to save and go to bed. So..... much better improvement, the game did slow down near the end but that would have happened anyway, there are so many units on the screen, i limited to 500 per player. I may try to bump that up in the future but for now, I am definitely happy.
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:20 am

sounds a little promissing, so use the patch when ya get to the lan
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Fri Apr 06, 2007 7:58 pm

wft are ya pyro?
fiber-optics
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:36 pm
Location: Edmonton

Post by fiber-optics » Sun Apr 08, 2007 6:20 am

how was the lan?
punqewe wrote:could be worse...I mean you have to almost be psychic to figure out what Fiber's posts are. lol
User avatar
zeroumus
Posts: 4111
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:03 am

Post by zeroumus » Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:43 am

pretty darn good, definatly a success
Scald
Posts: 630
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:52 pm

Post by Scald » Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:48 am

zeroumus wrote:pretty darn good, definatly a success
Not only did the lan kick ass by normal standards, while all you were sleeping i had a BoE epic drop in WoW, now THAT is a a succesful weekend
Post Reply